Milk Bottle Mod Podge Tutorial

Hey Crafters! Mo here! Last weekend we hosted our first official event ! Lots went into pulling the baby shower together for our good friend! I was in charge of the centerpieces and I went crazy making hot pink mason jars!! But my favorite project that I made were pink and gray paper mod podge milk bottles !!! They are super cute and can be used again and again! I thought I would post a tutorial so you can make them at home! So here it is step by step! And best of all this is super cheap, kid friendly, and easy!

image

Step 1: gather your milk bottles, you can find them at your local craft store OR recycle your old Starbucks bottles like I did!

image

Step 2: Soak your bottles in warm soapy water to help you remove the labels and expiration date stamp . I soaked mine for 45 minutes then peeled off the label scrubbed some of the adhesive that was left behind and then let them soak for 30 more minutes .

image

Step 3: RINSE, RINSE, RINSE! I cannot stress this enough! You don’t want your bottles to be sticky! Then let your bottles air dry.

Step 4: Now that your bottles are all cleaned off and dry you are ready to start the mod podge process! So grab your scrapbook paper, mod podge, sponge brush and a clean work surface.

image

image

image

I also tore my paper into strips this makes it easier to apply to the bottles and you can layer the different colors or textures that you are using.

image

Step 5: Now it’s time for the fun part! Apply a coat of mod podge to your milk bottle. I turned my bottle upside down to make it easier for myself and so that the bottle didn’t stick to my newspaper.

image

Step 6: Take a strip of paper and slowly place it on the bottle . it doesn’t matter if you start at the bottom, top, or middle of the bottle but it is easier to start at the bottom and then do the top and fill in the middle, that way you can adjust the size of your strips as you go. I like to dump the brush and use my hands at this point! You don’t want gaps in between your paper and bottle so make sure to smooth as you go!

image

Step 7: Continue this process until you are finished! Let dry over night and enjoy!! Your paper should feel as hard as the glass surface and should not be sticky if so allow to dry for a longer period of time. You can also choose to deal your finished product with mod podge clear sealer.

image

Step 8: Enjoy your custom milk bottles!!!

image

Leave a Reply

